TFI Names 2013 4R Advocate Award Winners

19th Jan 2013 4R Consistent,4R Events,Implement the 4Rs,

The Fertilizer Institute (TFI) has announced the winners of the 2013 4R Advocate Awards.  The 4R Advocate Award program, now in its second year, recognizes farmers who are protecting the environment, boosting profitability and benefiting society through nutrient stewardship practices based on the 4R’s (use of the right nutrient source at the right rate, at the right time and in the right place). The winners were nominated by their retail dealers who are also recognized with 4R awards.  The 2013 winners are as follows:

• Rick and Jesse Brunner of Fifth Generation Farms in Almira, Washington; Nominated by Josh Bafus with Crop Production Services;

• Alan Jones of Jones Potato Inc.,  in Parrish, Florida; Nominated by Dennis Coleman with Crop Production Services;

• Alan Madison of Madison Farms in Walnut, Illinois; Nominated by Mark Orr with Ag View FS.;

• John Scates of Pat Scates and Sons Farm, in Shawneetown, Illinois; Nominated by Mike Wilson with Wabash Valley FS.; and

• Justin Stoneman of Stoneman Farms, in Breckenridge, Michigan; Nominated by Steve Wendzel with Wilbur Ellis.

“These growers deserve to be recognized by the entire agriculture community for their contribution to sustainable agriculture,” said TFI President Ford West. “Through their use of 4R nutrient stewardship, they are making a difference by protecting the environment, feeding a growing population and benefiting society as a whole. They are shining examples of the environmental, economic and social benefits of modern agriculture.”

The five winning growers, a spouse or companion and their nominating retailers will be awarded an expense-paid trip to the Commodity Classic, scheduled for Feb. 28-March 2 in Kissimmee, Fla. The Commodity Classic is the once-a-year, can’t-miss event for America’s soybean, corn, wheat and sorghum farmers. At the Classic, 4R Advocate winners will see the latest agricultural innovations first-hand and meet other growers and agricultural leaders from across the nation and will be honored at an invitation-only banquet.